Faculty Affiliates


Robert Ackerman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-2346

Email: raa110030@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Influence of developmental factors in adult interpersonal relationships.

Chandramallika Basak, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-3724

Email: cbasak@utdallas.edu

Research interests: How and where in the brain we remember information over a short period of time; the interplay between attention and memory; and the effects of cognitive training, including video games and memory exercises, on the brain and cognition in both young and old adults.

Denise Paquette Boots, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences

Phone: 972-883-6468

Email: deniseboots@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Youth violence and child abuse.

Timothy Bray, Ph.D.

Clinical Assistant Professor

School of Economic, Political, and Policy Sciences

Phone: 972-883-5432

Email: Timothy.Bray@utdallas.edu

Research interests: The development of multidimensional indicators for quality of life and disparities in quality of life.

Christine Dollaghan, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, Programs and Administration

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 214-905-3063

Email: dollaghan@utdallas.edu

Research interests: The nature, identification and outcomes of language and other communication disorders in young children, including children with specific language impairment and children recovering from traumatic brain injury.

Julia Evans, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-3105

Email: jle130030@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Processing deficits in school-aged children with language learning disorders.

Francesca Filbey, Ph.D.

Associate Professor, Bert Moore Chair in BrainHealth

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-3311

Email: fxf013100@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Neural mechanisms associated with addictive disorders.

Lisa Goffman, Ph.D.

Professor, Nelle C. Johnston Chair in Communication Disorders in Children

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-3043

Email: Lisa.Goffman@utdallas.edu

Research interests: The intersection of motor and language components in children and the application of findings to the assessment and treatment of children with communication disorders.

Shayla C. Holub, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 972-883-4473

Email: sholub@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Attitudes and self perceptions of young children; childhood obesity.

Heidi Kane, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-4469

Email: heidi.kane@utdallas.edu

Research interests: How social and cognitive processes shape interpersonal experiences and how these experiences, in turn, impact relationship dynamics and health.

Mandy Maguire, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: 214-905-3163

Email: mjm053000@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Neurocognitive development (using ERPs) and language.

Candice Mills, Ph.D.

Associate Professor; Program Head, Psychological Sciences MS

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-4475

Email: candice.mills@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Understanding how children learn from others, social cognition, and critical thinking.

Jackie Nelson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-4478

Email: jackie.nelson@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Family interaction, family stress and children's social-emotional development.

Alex Piquero, Ph.D.

Ashbel Smith Professor of Criminology and Associate Dean for Graduate Programs

School of Economic, Political, and Policy Sciences

Phone: 972-883-2482

Email: apiquero@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Criminal careers, crime prevention, criminological theory, quantitative research methods.

Karen Prager, Ph.D.

Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-2353

Email: kprager@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Couples' closeness, intimacy, conflict, reconciliation.

Raul Rojas, Ph.D., CCC-SLP

Assistant Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 214-905-3162

Email: raul.rojas@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Child language from a longitudinal and processing perspective, specifically bilingual language development in typically developing children and in children with language impairment(s).

Pamela R. Rollins, Ed.D.

Associate Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 214-905-3153

Email: rollins@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Child language development and disorders; autism.

Noah J. Sasson, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-2541

Email: nsasson@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Perceptual and cognitive mechanisms that contribute to social dysfunction in Autism Spectrum Disorders.

Richard K. Scotch, Ph.D.

Professor

School of Economic, Political and Policy Sciences

Phone: 972-883-2922

Email: scotch@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Early childhood education, disabilities studies, human services.

Melanie Spence, Ph.D.

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Studies

Program Head, Psychological Sciences Ph.D. Program

Phone: 972-883-2206

Email: mspence@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Infant learning and memory.

Emily Touchstone, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 972-883-3626

Email: etouchstone@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Developmental perspectives on social cognition, language and literacy.

Marion K. Underwood, Ph.D.

Dean of Graduate Studies; Associate Provost

Ashbel Smith Professor of Psychological Sciences

Email: undrwd@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Anger, aggression and gender and children's peer relationships.

Anne van Kleeck, Ph.D.

Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 214-905-3147

Email: annevk@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Preliteracy development, socialization, assessment, and intervention.

Andrea Warner Czyz, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

School of Behavioral and Brain Sciences

Phone: 214-905-3124

Email: warnerczyz@utdallas.edu

Research interests: Speech perceptions in infants and children with hearing loss, particularly those with cochlear implants.